jacob-and-esau

I got a script I know I could pitch to Tarantino. This is seriously more obscure than Kill Bill or Pulp Fiction. I didn’t write it but I think I could get away with taking credit for it. How many people have read Obadiah?

I just finished reading Obadiah. I know, I know, it is not a great feat. I think this is the second time I have merely glanced at the scripture. Obadiah is only a whopping 21 verses. Weird wouldn’t do the description justice though.

Quentin, seriously, you should make a movie about this. The flow is perfectly fitted for your end to beginning story line style. Start with Obadiah and work back to Amos and then Genesis…it would be scary awesome!

If you haven’t read Obadiah lately, check it out. To really get the 3D effect, read through the latter part of Genesis. Those Sunday School teachers sure left out a bunch of details.

The movie should end with a young lady, I mean 16-18 year old girl, squeezing out twins. One of the twins, Esau, would pop out red and hairy like a leprechaun and the other, Jacob, black and normal looking. In the background you would then see an old Billy Bob (Isaac the Father) nodding his head proudly.

I’m not going to pretend to be a Bible scholar. So I am not going to read between the lines and say this piece of scripture means “this.” I don’t know why this was recorded. I am sure a Jewish scholar would understand completely. The only remark I can make is that God is God. God wrote the story. God planned each scenario and I accept the fact that I will never fully understand his purpose.

A principal that jumped off the pages hit me between the eyes however. YOU GET WHAT YOU GIVE. Funny, my pastor spoke of this yesterday from a totally different perspective. Why I turned to Obadiah, I don’t know. Like I said, God knows what He is doing.

