shit-happens

This thought was brought up my life, “why do bad things happen to good people?” Obviously, it happens. The questions is, why does it happen?

I am lucky to be a part of a life group that clicks. We can joke and be serious at the same time. It has been great. My favorite part is that each person isn’t afraid to voice their feelings and that each person comes from a different denominational background. Everyone brings something different to the table.

We have been studying a so called “blessed life.” What does it mean to be blessed? Is it possible to have a blessed life?

I will attempt to answer these questions. Actually, I should probably state that I will not conceive a great answer. I can only speak from my life and the answer may or may not reflect the answers of anyone in my life group.

What does it mean to be blessed? Blessed to me, is acknowledging that God will provide spiritually, emotionally, and physically. It is a state of mind. It is faith. It is hope. It is assurance. I am currently on an adventure looking for scripture that supports this viewpoint. Honestly, my viewpoint has been influenced by C.S. Lewis.

Maybe the easiest way to answer this question would be by looking at the opposite end of the spectrum. Are we not blessed because shit happens? This is were peace settles for me. I find blessing in God’s control. I try to live my life as purely as possible. I try and fail. I have found that if I sync with God the more euphoric I feel. Happy. Peaceful. Thankful. And yes, shit still happens. My only answer for this is that I wasn’t truly synced or God is God. I know, that is a sucky answer. But God is God and God is faithful.

Lately I have been intrigued by the dusty books at the back of the Old Testament. Right now, these are the best scriptures for me to help grasp the rhyme and reason for how and why God does what He does. I think it is absolutely wrong of me to even question God, but I do. However, I find hope in that fact that all these crappy things happened to God’s chosen people. I say again, His chosen people. I must say, nothing was unjustified.

Regardless of what happens, I know God is in control. I am not saying that I live by this. I am not saying that I have never questioned God. I just know that when shit happens, there is a purpose greater than me in the works. Unfortunately, I think I forget that I am a sinner who deserves shit to happen. God has a right to test, judge, and punish me.

As I poorly attempt to express these deep theological questions, I can’t help but think about my Lord Jesus Christ. I think about His life. I think about all the shit He had and has to put up with because of me.

In short, for me to be blessed, I must trust His purpose and live by His principles. There are a lot of principles and to keep up with all of them at the same time is and can be daunting.

I’m done. I will try to answer the second question later. My humanity is embarrassing and doubts have suddenly risen.

