Ecclesiastes 1:1-11

1 The words of the Teacher, son of David, king in Jerusalem:
I don’t want to confront who the author is. Whoever the author, I believe him to be a philosopher. I believe that he was not influenced by Greek teaching. The words are vivid and needed. He’s a good teacher.
2 “Meaningless! Meaningless!”says the Teacher.
“Utterly meaningless!
Everything is meaningless.”
How can I add? I can only ask, “What is everything?”
3 What does man gain from all his labor at which he toils under the sun?
Let’s see. A paycheck, sore back, lay off papers, higher rung on the ladder, corner office, paper cut, company car, AFLAC..
4 Generations come and generations go, but the earth remains forever.
I’m gonna die. This life is temporary. I should seize the day, right?

5 The sun rises and the sun sets,and hurries back to where it rises.
Time never stops. Time flies. I only have one life to live.

6 The wind blows to the south and turns to the north;
round and round it goes,
ever returning on its course.
7 All streams flow into the sea, yet the sea is never full.
To the place the streams come from,
there they return again.
(this is my interpretation) When one attempt at a pleasure doesn’t satisfy, I will turn and look for satisfaction elsewhere. This becomes a cycle and I end up wasting my life trying to satisfy my selfish desires.
I may get a moment of happiness but eventually I find this form of “happy” is fake. Because I am not entertained my search continues.
8 I amassed silver and gold for myself, and the treasure of kings and provinces. I acquired men and women singers, and a harem as well—the delights of the heart of man.
I got bank. I’m a baller. Have you seen my episode on MTV Cribs? You want what I got. I’m big pimpin.
9 I became greater by far than anyone in Jerusalem before me. In all this my wisdom stayed with me.
He lived larger than anyone in his lineage. He was related to David. We know how David rolled. Today, his last name would be Kennedy, Bush, Clinton, but not Knutson. Even though he knew his pleasure adventure was meaningless, he continued to nowhere.
10 I denied myself nothing my eyes desired;I refused my heart no pleasure.
My heart took delight in all my work,
and this was the reward for all my labor.

He saw something, he went after it. Anything that offered a glimpse of peace, security, the ability to forget about unhappiness, or the hope of drowning  personal failure was not refused.
He found pleasure but not happiness.
11 Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve,
everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind;
nothing was gained under the sun.

When he was finished with a pursuit, he knew he had only wasted time.
Whether you call him Solomon or Qoheleth, you can not deny the authors wisdom. This wisdom transcends time. The truth in the words is everlasting. The failures addressed, have happened to every man. Nobody can read this self help work without relating to this man’s journey.
Between Satan tempting us with bogus flights at happiness and our humanity offering hope the these attempts are valid, we are doomed for failure. These words have been penned as a warning, yet we do not stop and listen. It’s easier that way, right? We would rather learn from our own mistakes than the mistakes of others.
I know Satan has played with my mind by assuring me that I should at least experience the pleasures of life. Bogus. Satan has tempted me that I will be a better follower if I can empathise rather than sympathise. Bogus.
EVERYONE lives their life pursuing ONE thing. Happiness. Satan is great at what he does. He knows your weakness and exploits it. If we should strive to be good at something, it should be the ability to differentiate between Satan’s bogus lies and God’s desires.
