Ecclesiastes 1:12-18 
The author calls it a burden.
I think that’s a good thing. This burden can be a reminder of what is truly important.
The author says he has studied, learned, and taught. He’s highly educated.
Through this knowledge, a burden has infected his soul.
As seen in the previous verses, the author ensures his audience that EVERYTHING is meaningless. Everything that I can attain without God, is meaningless!
At least our pursuits. The more I think about this, the more I agree. Some of my selfish pursuits are needed. At least, I thought they were needed.
The author sates. “What is twisted cannot be straightened; what is lacking cannot be counted.” If my pursuits didn’t begin with God, they will always be selfish. I need so much of God, that there is no increment great enough to fully measure that need.
Again, the author states that the more he learns, the more he grieves.
I can relate. The more I realize and began to understand my purpose the more I want others to understand as well. The more I understand life, the more the burden of sharing those conclusions arise.  This grief is good. This grief keeps me on my toes. This grief pushes me outside. This grief allows me to connect. Good grief.
