real-loveIf I told you these two people were married, you probably would come up with reasons why they should not be. Whether it be because they are black and white. Because she is taller than him. Because their kids would look funny. Because people will always stare at them. I guarantee you laughed, smiled, or at least raised an eyebrow.

Everyone who is married or has ever been married believes they have the best advice for those who are about to take the plunge. I have only been married for about 6 years. I don’t have any advice to offer but simply to “hang on.” Marriage can be tough. The first year was the hardest for us. We dated for 2 years before we said “I do.” The pre-marriage was incredible. Literally, the first time I saw her I knew she was the one! I didn’t even talk to her until 4 months after that moment. I was scared. She was hotter, smarter, funnier, and more ambitious than any other girl I had dated.

Then we put on those rings and instantly things changed. That’s the part I didn’t realize was going to happen. Nobody told us that things would change. We changed into one person with two very different bodies, minds, and agendas. Now, we have become acquainted to one another. Life is Good. I would probably jump out of a plane without a chute if she left me. I really don’t think I could make it without her. I don’t care if you think I should “man up.” She IS my other half. And until we both realized that we were one, our marriage wasn’t as strong as it should be. Marriage is a mystery…?

Two young kids are asking me to hitch them. I was their youth pastor. And frankly, at first I was flattered but then I thought “are you sure?” Not sure about me marrying them but sure about getting married itself. I have been thinking about what I would advise them. I ran across this and was blown away.

marriage

I found this insanely great piece of advice here.

I wish somebody would have told us this!

