Being in Kansas the last 6 years, I have grown accustom to a literal harvest. Currently I work in the pneumatic conveying industry which caters to the middle men between the farmers and the end user of the grain products roller coaster ride. I have heard and seen the ups and downs of all parties within this uncontrollable game.

I know people who bet on the future value of a crop. I know people who put their lively hoods on the line in hopes of just breaking even. I will soon be working in the fields for the rights to hunt on a piece of property. As I think about the farmers themselves, I find myself being envious of their lifestyle. Why? Simply because their lives are never boring. They have control over nothing. They can’t control the price of diesel. They can’t control the rain. They can’t control the wind. They can’t control the dependability of their big green machines. They can’t control the man who determines the value of their product that they have labored over.

Yes, they can insure the entire operation. Have you ever had anything insured and unfortunately had to use its coverage? You only break even at best. Even if you have a stellar harvest, insurance always cuts into profit margin.

As I have tried to insert myself into the mission of God, I anticipate experiencing all the emotions that John Brown farmer understands. And this is a good thing.

I have heard so many missionaries who are stationed in foreign lands proclaim Matthew 9:37-38. ‘Then he [Jesus] said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”

Whew! I get to sit on my butt. Man, I am glad Jesus didn’t call me out. He didn’t even say, “You.” Nope, Jesus’ instructions pertained to His disciples.

Wait a minute. Jesus’ description made it sound as if there was so much work to be done that His disciples wouldn’t be able to handle the work load on their own. And then there is the only actual instruction within these two verses. Do you see it? Jesus told them to ASK the Lord to send out workers into the field. Maybe, just maybe, these 12 men, at that moment, stopped and prayed for all believers. Maybe they prayed for future believers to take up their cross (Matt. 9:38). Maybe I was included in a prayer of Peter. You’re right, Peter never said, “Cody” in one of his prayers. But I would put my money on the fact that the disciples prayed for the future of Christ’s cause. I bet they prayed that every future believer would put their faith into action.  

I don’t even want to get into Calvinism, predestination, or “getting em saved.” These arguments will always be debatable. However, there is no denying Christ in His instructions. He has called all who have been called to go into the world. Whether that is on main street or Moscow we have been called to do good works unto all men, for the soul purpose of revealing His love. Then they may be saved or then they may learn that they have been saved. Whichever floats your boat?

It’s as simple as offering a cup of water. Matt. 9:42

I feel I am getting off track a bit. My point isn’t to tell you what you should or shouldn’t be accomplishing. My point is that 3 days ago I asked people to offer a substitution for the word “call”. Not counting today, 198 people since Wednesday came across this blog either intentionally or unintentionally. And only 2 people commented. Or said differently, 1.01010101% responded on this blog to “God’s call.”

Of course I am nobody and if you read the post and didn’t comment, I am not judging you. Whether you commented or not has nothing to do with the level of your faith. But it made me think about the thousands, if not millions, of people of have read or heard Matthew 9:37-38 and Mark 16:15. Do you think the percentage who has responded to Christ’s call is the same?

I think so.

The reason, I believe, is the same reason most wouldn’t want to be a farmer. We always look at the physical side of life when we make decisions.

Nobody strives to wear overalls and smell like a bottle of Pennzoil. Being a farmer is definitely not a sure thing when comes to putting money in the bank. Farmers live a slow unfashionable lifestyle. They drive old beat up Ford trucks. They take the risk of their daughters running off with some ol’ boy with an ear ring. Farmers can not control anything. They have no idea how this season will turn out.

On the plus side, they do have land though. They get to eat a real breakfast everyday. They aren’t lazy. They continually get to breathe in and experience God’s creation. They get to drive old beat up Fords! They usually own four wheelers. They never have to call a mechanic. The have dog’s named Blue that never leave their side. The have a good woman who fries up chicken and brings them sweet tea in the heat of the day.

I guess when the day is over; living by faith isn’t that easy. The thought of being different is too much for most. But most of all, I believe when we as a society are told to do something, we instantly become selfish and believe our own agendas are more important. We must have control. And control is not an option if one truly lives by faith.

