I have decided to devote some time to learning about and learning from one of the greats. Charles H. Spurgeon has been portrayed to me from the pulpit and the class room in various ways. I have heard people talk of him as a quiet reverent man of God. And then others depict him as this William Wallace character. Of course, this quote of his is pushing me out of my seat, “Every Christian is either a missionary or imposter.” and honestly this quote has out run me. I have attempted to out run it but I could never deny the truth within that statement.

SpurgeonDon’t worry my free will friends, I don’t think Spurgeon was a 5 pointer but it is definitely one of my objectives. And to my preD friends, Spurgeon quoted Calvin so I am gonna see how much they had in common…maybe they both were into Bach and stinky cheeses, who knows?

As I begin my research in the library, aka Google, the first thing that I notice is a bunch of quotes by CHS. While digesting them I realize a majority of them deal with monetary issues. For some reason I think CHS had bank, because I saw a picture of him pimping a sparkling chain similar to the Superman “S”, but again I should learn of that in the future. Anyways, the whole money thing caught me by surprise. We are talking about the time frame of the 1800’s…everything was black and white…the same suit was wore everyday…they dipped old bread in water…they didn’t deal with selfish, stingy, superficial, and I can’t think of another “s” word so I’ll use materialism based pride. Guess I was wrong because check out these quotes.

It is not how much we have, but how much we enjoy, that makes happiness. – CHS

Show me the business man or institution not guided by sentiment and service; by the idea that “he profits most who serves best” and I will show you a man or an outfit that is dead or dying. – CHS

Economy is half the battle of life. It is not so hard to earn money as to spend it well. – CHS

Many men owe the grandeur of their lives to the tremendous difficulties. – CHS

Every generation needs regeneration. – CHS



