grace

I look around, read around, hear around, and learn a lot about the trends of the Christian culture. It’s amazing how marketed Christian theories, methods, and practices are. It’s like there is a circuit and until a leader is on that circuit as a keynote he is not proved successful. Don’t take this the wrong way because I have been transformed for the better by “famous” Christians, thanks to marketing.

There is so much for leaders. So much. Conferences galore filled with snacks and Starbucks. I’ve been to my share. I have always felt so cool once I receive my lanyard. I have heard famous speakers and teachers. Even read some of their books. I think the most famous Christian leader I have ever met has been Doug Fields. I even got my picture taken with Third Day once. It amazes me how much these circumstances have benefited my faith. If it was 1995, I would say, “not!” These are just my thoughts…actually I am just thinking out loud. It’s weird how Christians always compare their selves to others. We wanna have faith and authority like ______. So we buy the books, music, comment on their blogs, and go to their conferences because they told you to.

These out loud thoughts have caused me to think about grace. What in the world is grace anyways? Please don’t say God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense either. Acronyms should be saved for poems that you write to your grandmother. The go to verse for grace is what? Yup, Ephesians 2:8-9. We have been brainwashed I’m telling ya. At least I have been. Not doctrinally brainwashed, well maybe, I mean if I had a piece of communion bread for every time I heard a preacher talk about grace within Ephesians 2, I would have started www.pigeonfood.com.

My take, I feel like we have quit looking for grace. We’ve found it already, right? Since grace is on the back of the brain we look for confirmation and acceptance through the newest trends. I noticed that the majority of the time the word grace is used in the OT it is preceded by either find, found, or obtained. Then in the NT grace is given, used, or greeted/commenced with.

Too be honest I don’t know where I am going with this. I ain’t about to get into some doctrinal discussion because I tend to avoid doctrine. Just look up the word grace on Wikipedia and you’ll see what I mean if you don’t already. (Side note, doctrine, to me, is man’s religious attempt to officially say my beliefs are right and yours are wrong. People don’t care about your doctrine. If you don’t believe me, I dare you to ask them.) There we go, I finally start tracking with me (I wish I was Scottish sailor) thoughts. Grace is proof of what, who, how, and why God is the God. Instead putting grace on the back porch I believe we should be extending that grace to the rest of mankind before we buy into the marketed Christian trends of who, what, how, and why.

It’s popular these days to talk about taking risks for God. That’s what grace is to me. That is…God has taken a risk on me by offering grace. This risk of God’s even happened although he knew I would foul it up. God has taken a risk on you and you believe in it but when was the last time you took a risk by showing what grace is to someone else?

