That’s the question. I have been to the University of Dave Ramsey. I couldn’t tell you if I graduated though. I walkedDave Ramsey away from Dave’s advice with hope but also a lot of questions. I agreed with the majority of his ideology but also disagreed with some.

With me preparing and switching gears into a missional lifestyle that will be fully supported by others, I have thought long and hard about finances. First of all it’s stressful. I hate this talk. I am naturally a free spirit and come to the table with the notion that “God will take care of us”. Of course, through financial mistakes I have made, I’ve learned I must be smart with the money God has entrusted me with.

I don’t think we (me personally) need to worrying about saving. If we have the ability to save, great. I know most people would say it would be foolish to not save. I feel like I should take a chance with the hand I’m dealt. My gut tells me to go all in. I feel we are blessed if all we have is just what we need. I hope to never officially “retire”. I hope I am serving in this capacity until I’m dead. With that in mind, what would be the point of saving? Our money will either pay bills or be used to influence others for the cause of Christ.

How much stock do you put into this portion of scripture? “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

(If you know of any portion of scripture that supports the American idea of “saving”, please let me know. Seriously!)

