I read the book of Proverbs every morning once I get to work. I keep getting this notion that I should memorize the entire book. There is a ton of good stuff in that book. There is also a lot of weird stuff as well. I think the book of Proverbs has an answer for everything. Everything. I think somebody asked the author a whole bunch of questions and as he walked away to pen the answers to the questions, he said this, “If there was a problem yo I’ll solve it. Check out the hook while my DJ revolves it.” And that’s how the book of Proverbs came about.

Simply put the first part of the book states if you read these words, study them, and decipher the riddles, you gain knowledge and wisdom. Lord knows I need more of both of those. Then these words come into play just 7 verses in.

Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.

There is no need for me to try to add to this because I would only come up short. But what the hay. How do we fear the Lord? Are you afraid of God? I am. Seriously. I truly fear disobeying Him. I’ll admit there are times when I must not fear Him because I end up sinning. But then I begin to fear His punishment. This fear has lead to me to knowing and understanding the relationship between God and man.

Would I consider myself wise? Heck no! The knowledge I have gained allows me to see the bigger picture while looking through the eyes of cancer, death, pain, and all those atrocious circumstances that no one seems to have control over. I don’t have answers. I don’t think God ever said He would provide answers. He just said He would provide knowledge and understanding. But only if we fear the Lord.

