(PHOTO from BADZO)

After picking through the book of Deuteronomy, I found the words within are just as obscure as doing a backflip off of a bible. Yesterday I posted a weird piece of the book and it inspired me to continue to share other statements that catch my eye. So, today I went back to chapter 1 to start reading all over again with the intent of finding more gems. I tell you what, it ain’t hard to find this quirky stuff.

I’ll try to do some homework on the history of this stuff to sound somewhat contextual. But more than likely the boy in me will come out. Mainly, I will comment on what my response would be to Moses and the Lords statutes.

Deuteronomy 4:41Then Moses set apart three cities in the east beyond the Jordan,42 that the manslayer might flee there, anyone who kills his neighbor unintentionally, without being at enmity with him in time past; he may flee to one of these cities and save his life:43 Bezer in the wilderness on the tableland for the Reubenites, Ramoth in Gilead for the Gadites, and Golan in Bashan for the Manassites.

Check out Deuteronomy 19:4. For instance if 2 dudes are in the forest chopping down trees and 1 swings his axe and the axe head flies off and kills his partner, he may go to these cities and live. Naturally the dead mans family and friends would be filled with wrath and seek vengeance upon the one who neglected to tighten down his axe head. So the “manslayer” would need a place to hide out.

Why not just take the fat of a goat and mix it with the overflowing honey to create axe glue? There must have been a lot of dead dudes and missing axe heads because Moses didn’t set apart 1 city for refuge he set apart 3.

