(PHOTO from MASTROIANNI)

Deuteronomy 11:26See, I am setting before you today a blessing and a curse:27 the blessing, if you obey the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you today,28 and the curse, if you do not obey the commandments of the Lord your God, but turn aside from the way that I am commanding you today, to go after other gods that you have not known.

We are blessed just to have the opportunity to obey. I bet if we quit worrying about being “punished” for not obeying and started finding joy in the ability to obey, life would be much easier.

I think the biggest problem is that we don’t view the things that we put before God as a god. If we are not worshiping God then we are worshiping something else. It sounds harsh. And we aren’t that bad. Right? We just got a little sidetracked. And it’s ok. God will forgive. Of course God will forgive but only if we ante up, are honest, admit we created a god, and ask for forgiveness.

