(PHOTO from -icy-)

Thursday night, after spending the day frying turkeys and enjoying time with my family, we decided to drive home. This way Kyah could sleep, traffic would be lighter, and I could drive like a bat out of hell. On the way down to Texas, I clocked my slowest time of 5.5 hours. At one point it took an hour to move 15 miles. But leaving at 7:30pm I knew I could get home to Kansas by 12am.

The cruise was set at an undisclosed speed and we arrived in OKC shortly. Kyah woke up crying. We figured she was just extremely exhausted and uncomfortable in her car seat. Stephanie did what she could to calm her down and get her back to sleep. But she kept crying. After 20 minutes of balling, she finally screamed she had to pee pee. I felt bad. She had to “go” but she didn’t want to wet her pants so all she knew do was to cry.

Kyah learned that those golden arches didn’t just provide happy meals but they are also a God send when you have to go pee pee.

Sometimes when we realize we have no control over life, the only thing we can do is cry. We can get mad. We can become sad. But when we begin to cry out to God, things happen. We admit that we are dependent upon His mercy. Crying out can also cause others to become aware of a situation which can allow them to cry out on our behalf as well.

Through a friend’s Facebook feed I learned that the farthest you can get from a McDonalds in the continental US, is like 2 hours. Fortunately, with God He is always right where you need Him to be. Sometimes we don’t get our circumstance resolved on our time or in our manner but we always have the ability to cry out to Him. Jesus, in torment, cried out.

Matt. 27:46 About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”–which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

