Anybody else enjoy the commercials from the largest Ford and Chevy dealers in the country? Am I the only one that has seen the same guy pimping two different car lots, in two different states? Those dudes are crazy. All you have to do to prove that they are an American company is look up and notice the flag. I believe that flag could be taken down, cut up, sewn up, and given away to clothe all the children in your choice of an African country. Maybe they should do that for the next person who comes in and buys a minivan. Have you ever taken your kids into the dealership because they were having free hot dogs, chips, drinks, clowns, balloons, and MORE? Knowing that you would not buy a car. I have thought about it. Only because I want to slide down that insanely huge blow up bounce house slide. It’s awesome when they offer no payments and no interest until February 2012. Well Hank, I’m feeling crazy, let’s make it no payments and no interest until January 2013 and will throw in this 9″ portable dvd player for FREE!

And then, the micro machine man slides in. And says, nmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmn. ccc, mnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmmnmnmnmnmnmnm, huhuh, nmnmnmnmnmnm, Some exclusions apply.

Reminds me of something.

We brag about how great our church is (yes I am talking the church in general). The attempt at being relevant comes through loud and clear. We emphasize a come as you are attitude. We stress that the experience will include this, this, that, this, and MORE. Everybody is welcome. Don’t judge your past! And these are all good things that the church does!

But do we have our own “micro machine man” come in? When it’s time to reveal the truth, is it stated clearly? Is it stated boldly? Are we afraid that the truth will turn people away?

1 Corinthians 4:1 So then, men ought to regard us as servants of Christ and as those entrusted with the secret things of God.2 Now it is required that those who have been given a trust must prove faithful.3 I care very little if I am judged by you or by any human court; indeed, I do not even judge myself.4 My conscience is clear, but that does not make me innocent. It is the Lord who judges me.

I wonder, if Jesus would have been a pastor, would He have been more concerned about visitors coming in or disciples going out? We admire Paul but are we brave enough to live like him? Paul cared for souls but he didn’t give a flip about what others thought of his intentions. I envision Paul to have been a little, scrappy fella. But I know he didn’t talk fast like the micro machine man.

